Homeschool Mom Tag

I have watched several homeschool Moms answering the questions in this tag in videos on Youtube. I thought it would be interesting to answer the questions, but does teaching my two year old count as homeschooling? I believe the answer is yes.

According to Merriam-Webster.com the definition of homeschool is “to teach (one’s children) at home”.

We do that. So here are the ten questions:

1. Were you homeschooled?
2. Did you know always know you’d homeschool your children?
3. What are your 3 favorite books in your homeschool library?
4. Are you the only “teacher”? Does your spouse help, outsource help, tutors, etc.
5. Where is your favorite place to buy homeschool curriculum?
6. Do you have a set budget for your homeschool?
7. What are 2 must have homeschool supplies?
8. What’s your favorite/least favorite subject to teach?
9. Are you involved in coops or homeschool groups? What has your experience been in these groups?
10. What is your approach? ( Charlotte mason, eclectic, classical, etc)

My answers:

Were you homeschooled? Yes. I went to a public school through the sixth grade and was homeschooled for grades 7-10 at which point I tested for a GED.

Did you know always know you’d homeschool your children? No. My husband was against homeschooling. He was always adamant that if we had children they would go to school.I wasn’t sure I wanted to homeschool either. We’re still not entirely sure what we will do when she reaches the age where the state requires her to have a more formal education, but at this point we’re leaning towards homeschooling her as long as she wants to.

What are your 3 favorite books in your homeschool library? This is a really hard one. We are a home of book lovers so we have an overabundance. I’ll go with current favorites though they are subject to change at any moment and with no warning, my daughter is two after all. Her current favorite book to have read to her is ‘The Itsy Bitsy Spider” by Rosemary Wells. Her current favorite book to read to herself is “My first 1 2 3 : a first counting book” by Sam Chaffey. It’s a counting book that goes up to the number 20 instead of just to ten and loves it! And book three would be the “Touch and Feel Puppy” book by DK Publishing, Inc. My toddler is dog obsessed and she loves that she can pet the dog pictures and feel their noses too.

Are you the only “teacher”? Does your spouse help, outsource help, tutors, etc. I think at age two everyone is teaching her all the time. As far as more formal work, I set up all school related activities and I’m the only one that does workbooks with her, at last so far. We do attend a music class for toddlers and their caregivers though.

Where is your favorite place to buy homeschool curriculum? We are still pretty new to curriculum of any sort, but anything we have used so far has come from Dollar Tree, Sam’s Club, or Amazon.

Do you have a set budget for your homeschool? We are a one and a half income family so we have a tight budget for everything. We do not have a budget line for homeschool supplies as yet though the funds just come out of what we would be spending on toys or other miscellaneous things.

What are 2 must have homeschool supplies? My daughter’s Kindle (with wifi) and stickers. We use both in so many ways.

What’s your favorite/least favorite subject to teach? We don’t follow too strict of a schedule or curriculum. I try to offer her a variety of options, but we are pretty much only focused on math based work, handwriting/prewriting, and reading, with some logic and lifeskills thrown in.  My favorite would have to be math because she has the most fun with it. My least favorite it writing and pen control because she doesn’t enjoy it. I keep coming up with new ways to get her to practice or at least try, but she really doesn’t enjoy it so I don’t push too much. She will write when she’s ready.

Are you involved in coops or homeschool groups? What has your experience been in these groups? We are not in a group or coop and I didn’t know they were a thing until recently so I have no experience thus far.

What is your approach? ( Charlotte mason, eclectic, classical, etc) Eclectic and casual. We’re willing to try just about anything once.

Feel free to leave any answers to the questions below. I would love to hear from you too!

Leave a Reply

