Reading is always something I’ve loved to do. I had been an avid reader from the time I learned how at about age three until I had my daughter nearly two and a half years ago. After becoming a mother I found myself never having the time, the brain power, or the quiet I now found myself needing in order to focus on the words.

I missed reading terribly. So at the beginning of this year I set myself a goal to read 17 books in 2017. So far I’ve finished eight this year. I think that’s more than I managed to read in all of 2016.

My to be read pile is always larger than I can possibly finish in a reasonable amount of time. Especially because most of the time the books are from the library and I have a three week time limit before I have to return them, sometimes it can be expanded to six weeks if no one is waiting for it.

I am pretty certain I won’t finish every book on my current stack, but these are what I am hoping to read soon.

Currently I am reading ‘Illuminae’ by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. It’s a book I’ve read before and loved. My library recently purchased the sequel, ‘Gemina,’ and I couldn’t wait to read it. But I decided that I would need a refresher on the first book before I could dive in to the second. What was going to be a skim through became a full read. I’m hoping to finish both of these books before they have to be returned and everything else I want to read is falling behind those two.

Two other books on my list have been on my list for a while. They are ‘The Miracle Morning’ by Hal Elrod and ‘Getting Things Done’ by David Allen. These two have been on my list nearly since I started bullet journaling over a year ago. Those two I purchased and am excited to read.

The last three books on my to be read pile are ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon discovered through a commercial that showed before a video on Youtube; ‘Everything Leads to You’ by Nina LaCour I believe was recommended in a Youtube book review I watched; and “The You I’ve Never Known’ by Ellen Hopkins I found while  browsing the library. Ellen Hopkins is a long time favorite author. I love the format of her books and the stories always grab me deeply. She is the one author my husband always dreads for me to read because I always end up sobbing uncontrollably at the end.

I positive I won’t get to all of these books before they are due to be returned, but I am making the effort to squeeze in some ‘me time’ and get back to reading something that is just for me.

Leave a Reply

