Overwhelmed by Curriculum

I can’t even remember how it started now, but it was only about eight weeks ago.  It was probably a workbook from Dollar Tree that my daughter found and wanted to take home. It probably had stickers. And I’m sure I said ‘Yes’. Sounds simple enough.

Eight weeks later, my house is filling up with curriculum, my brain is on overload from all of the options and research, my anxiety is rising trying to choose the best books and manipulatives, and our budget is starting to complain about all of the money going towards more workbooks instead of refilling our freezer. I am overwhelmed. I have too many options and I’m trying to buy everything I can make our budget afford.

Yesterday I bought a workbook set from dollar tree that had four books, one each on addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division. Division! For my 2 year old that can’t add yet? What am I doing?

Just because it seems like a worthwhile workbook or set of flash cards or anything else does not mean we need it. It does not mean it will work for us now or maybe not ever.

There are so many choices and so many price points. Do I spend $300 for a preschool curriculum? Or piecemeal free worksheets and books we read together to get through a year of learning. Should we just stick to doing what my daughter thinks is fun and not worry too much about focused learning or projects? She is two after all.

I want the best. The best curriculum, the best everything for my daughter. If I chose the wrong series she may not flourish, it could be the difference between her curing cancer and working a minimum wage job for the rest of her life. No pressure, right?

So what do I do? For starters, I keep reminding myself that she is two. As long as she is having fun and doing more than watching Paw Patrol and eating junk food all day, then she is doing fine. She’s learning all the time. She’s growing all the time.

I tell myself to relax. If she can’t read before she turns three, that won’t be the end of the world. If we don’t finish every workbook, that won’t be the end of the world. If we don’t have ‘school’ every day, that won’t be the end of the world either.

I tell myself to relax and have fun with my child. Tickle fights, snuggles on the couch, silly dances, and fun music are all even more important than worksheets and  reading lessons.

So, I tell myself “enjoy your child today. Love on her. Give her squishes and as many kisses as she can stand.” Dishes can wait, learning to read can wait. She won’t want to snuggle on my lap for much longer. She’s already too independent as it is. Just love on her while you can. The workbooks will be there when she’s ready, and so will I.

3 thoughts on “Overwhelmed by Curriculum

  1. Been there! It’s so easy to get caught up in what we think is “absolutely necessary for maximum achievement.” But then I remember that one of the reasons we decided to homeschool was so my kids could develop at a normal pace without the pressures of standardized learning. There are so many things for tiny people to learn that no workbook could ever teach. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for letting me know I’m not alone 🙂 I love your comment about how much our children can learn without workbooks. I’ll be sure to keep that in mind as we progress. My daughter and I both have more fun when I remember we’re trying to learn at her pace and not finish in record time.

      Like

  2. I tell myself the same thing and my daughter is going to be four. She starts school in September so I figured I’ll just ke her be a kid and leave the actual ‘school’ learning until then.
    I get where you at coming from though. It’s no easy task being responsible for shaping and moulding an individual. You want to give them the best but at the same time let them enjoy being little. It really is such a short time that they have to be truly carefree

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

